RFA Association

Caring for the RFA Community

CB Login

Slide 1


This site uses cookies. We are developing a "cookie" policy but for now you must accept cookies or move on.


The RFA Reunion, our annual get-together and the most important element on our annual calendar is held each year in May

Read More

Contact Us

To get in touch with us:-

Read More

CB Menu

Coull VaseThe Commodore James Coull Award 2019

The Trustees of the RFA Association, in consultation with COMRFA, are delighted to formally announce the winners of the 2019 Commodore James Coull Award  and they are :-

1/O (E) Michael Hontoir


1/O (LS) Michael Tyndell

For outstanding and meritorious service whilst serving in RFA Mounts Bay during Operation Barytone, , the disaster relief operation following the devastation caused by Hurricane Dorian in the Bahamas.

Read more: The Commodore James Coull Award 2019

Published on Friday, 22 May 2020 11:48

The following are the recipients of the James Coull Memorial Award.

 2004 - 2005 - 2006 - 2014 - 2015 - 2016 - 2017 -2018 -2019 - 2020


CPO Martin Joyce was selected by the Trustees to be the recipient after receiving a Commander in Chief Commendation. The award takes the form of a large engraved crystal vase and a framed diploma, and these were presented to Mr Joyce by Mrs Mary Coull at a ceremony on board RFA FORT VICTORIA.




This award was made on RFA Centenary Day, when the Commander in Chief, Sir Jonathon Band, made the presentation to Second Officer Ian Johnson MBE. This officer was recommended for his outstanding leadership and determination in carrying out civil relief operations in Grenada, following Hurricane Ivan.





Chief Officer Brian Hayes for the Award, following a Commander in Chief Commendation. This followed a catastrophic main engine failure in RFA FORT AUSTIN, when it became necessary to remove a main piston, and re-configure the engine. Mr Hayes was commended for his outstanding leadership and engineering ability in managing this difficult work, which is normally only carried out in harbour. Brian and his partner Joyce Bond were guests of the RFA Association at the RFA Reunion in London on 28th April, and the Award was presented by our Patron, HRH The Earl of Wessex.




First Officer (L&S) Ed Read joined the Strategy and Development Team in August 2012; in that time his work has been fundamental to development of policy and processes to ensure the RFA has a sustainable long term future.

With various position management changes, Ed has been vital to both continuity within the Afloat Support Division and ensuring the Strategy Development Programme achieves key milestones.

His contribution and achievements made during his tenure have been over and above the call of duty and for these reasons the Trustees have awarded First Officer Ed Read the James Coull Memorial Award.

It is hoped to make the presentation at the October 2014 Trustees Meeting in the Semapahore Tower.


ArgusFollowing the highly successful deployment of RFA Argus to Sierra Leone the trustees of the RFA Association and the Sponsor of the award have unanimously agreed that the JAMES COULL MEMORIAL Award 2015 should be made to the entire ship’s company of RFA Argus for their exemplary and meritorious effort, during Operation Gritrock, the UK’s participation in the international Ebola relief effort in West Africa. The award was presented to Captain David Eagles RFA, commanding officer of RFA Argus by RFA Association chairman Frank Andrews at the Association’s annual Reunion Dinner, held this year at the China Fleet Club, Saltash on 16th May.


The trustees of the Royal Fleet Auxiliary Association are delighted to announce that the winner of the 2016 Coull Award is Second Officer (E) Martin Peet for meritorious and outstanding service to the Royal Fleet Auxiliary. The award will be presented to Second Officer (E) Peet at the 2016 Reunion to be held at the Grand Harbour Hotel, Southampton on Saturday 21st May. I am sure you will all join me in offering sincere congratulations to Martin on this achievement.


CPO(E) Martin Crawford.

tspCPO(E) Crawford was appointed to RFA TIDESPRING as one of the first MARS Tanker Delivery Crew members in July 2015. During an extended appointment period when RFA TIDESPRING completed her build in South Korea, CPO(E) Crawford worked tirelessly to ensure all elements of the Fire Fighting, Damage Control equipment and systems were ready for acceptance and the voyage back to the UK. This has involved long hours and a dedication to completing the task to the highest standard possible. To achieve his aim he has forged close working relationships with many stakeholders including the DSME workforce, UK MoD project staff and other specialist contractors and inspectors, as well as Lloyds Register class surveyors.  




First Officer (X) Jamie FINLAY joined RFA MOUNTS BAY as the ship commenced a three year Atlantic Patrol Task (North) deployment. Within 3 weeks of joining, MOUNTS BAY was fully engaged in delivering Humanitarian Assistance and Disaster Relief (HADR) to the British Overseas Territories of Anguilla, the British Virgin Islands, the Turks Caicos Islands and the independent island of Dominica after they suffered unprecedented damage post hurricanes IRMA and MARIA.



No award made this year.



Mounts BayTwo awards made this year

1/O (E) Michael Hontoir


1/O (LS) Michael Tyndell

 For outstanding and meritorious service whilst serving in RFA Mounts Bay during Operation Barytone, , the disaster relief operation following the devastation caused by Hurricane Dorian in the Bahamas.

Published on Wednesday, 30 July 2014 10:09




Captain then Commodore, James Coull See here on the left.

VaseIn the spring of 2003 the Trustees announced the establishment of the JAMES COULL MEMORIAL Award, in memory of Commodore J G M Coull, who died in September 2002. This was made possible through the initiative and generosity of a Member who endowed funds for this purpose. The scheme is fully supported by the Head of Service, and the Coull family, who remain in touch and follow the annual award with great interest. Commodore James Coull was a distinguished sea-going officer, and was widely regarded as one of the finest seamen in command in the RFA.

The COULL AWARD is made in each year where a serving officer or rating makes an outstanding contribution to the good name of the Service, or selfless act above and beyond the normal call of duty, or other extraordinary achievement in his professional field. This award is appropriate to the memory of Commodore Coull, and its perpetuation is entirely in accordance with the aims of the RFA Association.

We hope that Commanding Officers will continue to report outstanding acts and achievements to the Trustees through COMRFA so that such service can be recognised through the operation of the James Coull Award

Published on Wednesday, 30 July 2014 09:52