RFA Association

Caring for the RFA Community

CB Login

Slide 1

CB Menu


Published on Wednesday, 30 July 2014 10:09 Hits: 5206

Category: Coull Memorial

The following are the recipients of the James Coull Memorial Award.

 2004 - 2005 - 2006 - 2014 - 2015 - 2016


CPO Martin Joyce was selected by the Trustees to be the recipient after receiving a Commander in Chief Commendation. The award takes the form of a large engraved crystal vase and a framed diploma, and these were presented to Mr Joyce by Mrs Mary Coull at a ceremony on board RFA FORT VICTORIA.




This award was made on RFA Centenary Day, when the Commander in Chief, Sir Jonathon Band, made the presentation to Second Officer Ian Johnson MBE. This officer was recommended for his outstanding leadership and determination in carrying out civil relief operations in Grenada, following Hurricane Ivan.





Chief Officer Brian Hayes for the Award, following a Commander in Chief Commendation. This followed a catastrophic main engine failure in RFA FORT AUSTIN, when it became necessary to remove a main piston, and re-configure the engine. Mr Hayes was commended for his outstanding leadership and engineering ability in managing this difficult work, which is normally only carried out in harbour. Brian and his partner Joyce Bond were guests of the RFA Association at the RFA Reunion in London on 28th April, and the Award was presented by our Patron, HRH The Earl of Wessex.




First Officer (L&S) Ed Read joined the Strategy and Development Team in August 2012; in that time his work has been fundamental to development of policy and processes to ensure the RFA has a sustainable long term future.

With various position management changes, Ed has been vital to both continuity within the Afloat Support Division and ensuring the Strategy Development Programme achieves key milestones.

His contribution and achievements made during his tenure have been over and above the call of duty and for these reasons the Trustees have awarded First Officer Ed Read the James Coull Memorial Award.

It is hoped to make the presentation at the October 2014 Trustees Meeting in the Semapahore Tower.


ArgusFollowing the highly successful deployment of RFA Argus to Sierra Leone the trustees of the RFA Association and the Sponsor of the award have unanimously agreed that the JAMES COULL MEMORIAL Award 2015 should be made to the entire ship’s company of RFA Argus for their exemplary and meritorious effort, during Operation Gritrock, the UK’s participation in the international Ebola relief effort in West Africa. The award was presented to Captain David Eagles RFA, commanding officer of RFA Argus by RFA Association chairman Frank Andrews at the Association’s annual Reunion Dinner, held this year at the China Fleet Club, Saltash on 16th May.


The trustees of the Royal Fleet Auxiliary Association are delighted to announce that the winner of the 2016 Coull Award is Second Officer (E) Martin Peet for meritorious and outstanding service to the Royal Fleet Auxiliary. The award will be presented to Second Officer (E) Peet at the 2016 Reunion to be held at the Grand Harbour Hotel, Southampton on Saturday 21st May. I am sure you will all join me in offering sincere congratulations to Martin on this achievement.